Help a total noob with an axle problem. - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2011, 10:23 PM   #1

Name: Jeff
Trailer: Scamp
Utah
Help a total noob with an axle problem.

Thanks in advance for entertaining the questions of a total noob.

First, I am an avid motorcycle camper. Not by choice, but for economic reasons. But my mother bought a 1986 Scamp 16' trailer. Since my mom is retired and I love my mother, I have volunteered to bring this thing up to spec.

Being a motorcycle camper, I have no experience with camp trailers, but I have decades of experience as an engineer; it has been entertaining to delve into all of the different technologies that make this thing happen.

But I am perplexed by the axle, HELP!

The problem is that we have no idea what we are starting with.

The trailer wears tires on the very inside; we had them turned around because the tread on the outside was almost brand new. Not only do they wear on the inside, but they have a "wave" pattern in the tread. Some spots are almost new tread, while between those spots the tire is almost worn out. The only explanation for this I can think of is some kind of "standing wave" being set up on the tire surface.

The tires have a definite slant to them, when viewed from behind the trailer. The tops of the tire are closer than the bottoms.

We have only put about 300 miles on this trailer. The previous owner says that the axle has been "flipped," but I am not sure what he means. Which way was the axle turned?

I saw an '84 with a torsion axle. I don't know what we have on this trailer. Take a look at the pics, first tell us are we dealing with a stock axle? Has it been flipped? Can the angle of the tires be fixed, or do we need a new axle?

ronin149 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:26 PM   #2

Utah
BTW, I called Scamp about this problem. They never called back.