P185-80 tires OR ST185-80 Tires - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2006, 09:40 AM   #1

Trailer: '77 Triple E Surfside
I was looking at installing New P185-80 13 inch tires this week on my SurfSide, but now by Father has contacted a Trailer Sales business in our area and they told him that I shouldn’t install tires like that. They said I should only install ST185-80 13 inch tires. They said the ST 185 tires are a special trailer tire and that they have more sidewall area which is going to be better for control issues and sway issues etc. My Father also talked to a guy he knows that used to own a SurfSide and he said when he had P185's on his trailer he almost lost it one time and figured that one side of the trailer was off the ground a foot.

I am new to this and now obviously concerned.

If anyone has any suggestions or thoughts on this, I'd appreciate the info.

Thanks
ericmarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 10:31 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Quote:
I was looking at installing New P185-80 13 inch tires this week on my SurfSide, but now by Father has contacted a Trailer Sales business in our area and they told him that I shouldn’t install tires like that. They said I should only install ST185-80 13 inch tires. They said the ST 185 tires are a special trailer tire and that they have more sidewall area which is going to be better for control issues and sway issues etc. My Father also talked to a guy he knows that used to own a SurfSide and he said when he had P185's on his trailer he almost lost it one time and figured that one side of the trailer was off the ground a foot.

Thanks