Question on Bigfoot ground clearance - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2013, 12:23 PM   #1

Name: geoff
Trailer: bigfoot
Saskatchewan
Question on Bigfoot ground clearance

We recently bought our first camper, a 1981 17' Bigfoot. It is great, other than the fact that it seems to sit very low to the ground. I can't even back it into my driveway because the back bumper hits bottoms out. My current hitch is a bit high, so the camper does not tow level. I went to my welder who made the hitch and asked him to make a new one with a further 2-3/4' drop to level it out, and he suggested flipping the axle leaf springs instead.

I am totally new to towing and campers in general, so I am asking: does this make sense?

His logic is that even with the camper level, it will be very low. He can flip the springs for $300-400, and it will raise the whole camper about 4". Welding a new hitch would cost about $50.

He seems to know what he is talking about ( his business is primarily welding hitches and prepping tow vehicles), but I would like to hear any other opinions.
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:35 PM   #2

Saskatchewan
Hopefully this picture works. It's a link to Dropbox...
Old 06-06-2013, 12:42 PM   #3

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
No photo. To add a photo go to advanced settings and click on the Paper clip icon and upload it that way.