Subaru Outback pulling 13' Trillium - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2008, 09:44 AM   #1

Trailer: 1978 Trillium 13 ft
My wife and I just happened on a 1978 13' Trillium at a fair price and couldn't pass it up. So, we're really newbies (though I have lots of miles experience pulling a utility trailer). Now, we have to get serious about what we'll need to do so we can safely pull it with our '06 Subaru Outback wagon - standard 4cyl engine. My wife quickly found your forum and we've been studying it like mad since. I'm convinced I need to add electric brakes and controller, and have a place near by that I know and trust to do the work. Not sure if I need the trans cooler. We would like to hear from any Outback owners (or similar engine size vehicle owners) that have pulled this size Trillium or similar about their experiences - with or without trailer brakes.
Old 09-13-2008, 10:34 AM   #2

Trailer: 1983 13 ft Scamp
Registry
If its a automatic you need the trans cooler or your transmission will be shot after no time. Change the fluid and put a cooler on.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 12:16 PM   #3

Thanks, Keven...Pretty much what I figured; so, I'll add that to the list of necessaries.
Quote:
If its a automatic you need the trans cooler or your transmission will be shot after no time. Change the fluid and put a cooler on.
re
Old 09-13-2008, 01:00 PM   #4

Trailer: 1990 Bigfoot 5th Wheel