tow bar length: how long is good? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2023, 01:03 PM   #1

Name: zack
Trailer: scamp 13
California
tow bar length: how long is good?

I have been towing a lot for the last 4 years or so and I think I understand ball height and things like that, but I feel a pretty uncertain about the considerations and trade-offs associated with tow-bar length. Right now I have a 12.25" long ball mount (see pictures) which I use to tow a Scamp 13 with an old Toyota 4Runner. I am thinking about getting a new longer bar to create more space, enable tighter turns and especially allow rear hatch opening when parked at an angle. What are the tradeoffs I need to consider? How long can I reasonably make that distance from the receiver to the tow ball?

The Scamp weights about 1500 lbs and has a group 27 battery and two propane tanks on the tongue.
Attached Thumbnails
Bar23.png   BarLength.png  

zack sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2023, 02:12 PM   #2

Trailer: 1985 Scamp 16 ft / ft 04 Subaru Forester XS (extra slow)
Think about the principle of leverage."Give me a place to stand, and I can move the Earth," said Archimedes. All it requires is a very long lever. By extending the hitch ball farther from the vehicle's rear axle, you lengthen that lever. That increases the vertical force when your trailer tongue jigs up and down. That's a bad thing for handling and safety.