Tow Vehicle Advice: Highlander vs 4Runner, AWD vs FWD vs 4WD vs RWD? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-05-2018, 08:33 PM   #1
JLC

Name: Jen
Trailer: Scamp
Washington
Tow Vehicle Advice: Highlander vs 4Runner, AWD vs FWD vs 4WD vs RWD?

Hi. We have a 13 foot Scamp. We need a new tow vehicle because the transmission just went out on our old one (a 2002 Mercury Villager that we happened to have before we got the Scamp). We're considering a Toyota Highlander or a Toyota 4Runner (more likely used than new). Any advice about which one would be better or if it makes a difference? Also, if we go with the Highlander, would you recommend AWD or FWD? And if we go with the 4Runner, would you recommend 4WD or RWD? I'm just learning about all of this, so I really appreciate any help and advice you can give me. Thank you!
JLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 08:49 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
If you want an off-road capable vehicle, go with the 4Runner. You will sacrifice somewhat on highway ride and handling, as well as non-towing fuel economy. Get 4WD because you're buying an off-road vehicle.

If you want a daily driver that can also tow, go with the Highlander for the reasons mentioned. AWD will come in handy when pulling the trailer up a slope with limited traction (gravel, snow, wet grass even), because the weight of the trailer on the hitch tends to reduce traction on the front drive wheels.

Both are solid, reliable vehicles. Towing set-up, especially wiring, may be easier on the 4Runner, but both have been used by many people for towing small to mid-sized molded trailer very successfully.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 09:00 PM   #3
JLC

Name: Jen
Washington
Thank you for sharing that!
JLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 09:58 AM   #4

Name: mark