Towing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2003, 07:21 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Towing

Hi all

advice, suggestions?

I'm gearing up for our first trip out, and was wondering if anyone has any special pointers or tips for me. I will be towing my Boler with a Toyota Rav4 5-speed. We will be out for 1.5 - 2 weeks or so. I'm new to both towing and trailering. I'm worried about stressing the tow vehicle. It is rated for 1500 lbs. towing capacity with a 150 lb hitch weight. Any driving pointers for me? Also, are there any little things I might need to be bringing along that I wouldn't have thought of?

Thanks a bunch! :wave

Legacy Posts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:56 AM   #2

towing

slow and steady does it, get used to the trailer first before you crank up the speed. You shouldn't really notice a 13 footer a whole lot, other than starting and stopping. You might find 5th gear a little sluggish with the trailer on behind.
When I got my first trailer I towed it around for a week every time I went for a drive just to get used to the feel of it and the reaction of my van.

Old 07-23-2003, 09:15 AM   #3

I agree with Joe ... you should hook up and drive around your neighborhood a few times before hooking up and hitting the road.

Practice makes perfect.

Also, trailer sway is not normally a problem ...

But ...

If it starts to sway and you have trailer brakes and a brake controller, apply the trailer brakes manually, while you speed up your tow vehicle. Don't step on your tow vehicle brakes!

If it starts to sway and you don't have trailer brakes ... Don't step on your tow vehicle brakes. Just increase the speed of your tow vehicle, and it will usually pull the trailer out of a sway.

Most important thing to remember, is in either case ... do not step on your tow vehicle brakes ...

Old 07-23-2003, 10:05 AM   #4