Towing Scamp 13' with Subaru Outback 2016 2.5 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2021, 10:30 AM   #1

Name: Ben
Trailer: Scamp
Colorado
Towing Scamp 13' with Subaru Outback 2016 2.5

Anyone have experince towing Scamp 13' (bunk - nothing else) with a Subaru Outback 2.5 engine? We tow about 5-6 times a year, live in Colorado so a Colorado pass or two a year and maybe a 8-10hr drive to yellowstone or down south to Sedona. I'm a slow driver and will have brake contrller installed. I tihnk fully loaded we'll be at around max 1800 with me my wife and toddler + gear. Outback has 2,700lb tow capacity. Anything I should be worried about with this tow setup? If I had money for a bigger vehicle I wold buy that but money is tight and outback is cheapest reliable and meets my needs for non-towing that I can find.
zsturm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 09:05 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Surprised you haven’t gotten a response. Outbacks are fairly popular as tow vehicles for 13’ Scamps. I will risk a reply despite no personal experience with that combination. Based on many reports, I expect performance will be adequate, but you won’t be blasting up the mountains at full speed. It has a low tongue weight rating (200#), which is about right for your Scamp, but you’ll have to limit what you carry in the back to avoid overloading the rear axle. You might need towing mirror extensions. And yes, you’ll want the brakes. You seem to be have it under control.

It wouldn’t be a bad idea to visit a truck stop on your first trip and get an axle-by-axle weight of your fully loaded rig. Most have a CAT (certified auto and truck) scale. There will be a modest $10-20 charge, and you’ll know exactly where you stand with your vehicle’s GVWR and axle weight ratings.