Trillium 13 Axle/Hub Question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2011, 05:02 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Trillium 13 Axle/Hub Question

Just got back from a quick look at a Trillium 13 that's for sale - it's a '75, seems in reasonable shape. I need some advice on the axle setup - remember that I'm really new to the whole trailer thing...

I used the "clenched fist should fit in the wheel well" test - my fist, on edge, fits on the starboard side, but fails by an inch or so on the port side. The port side tire also shows more wear, especially on the outside edge - the owner says both tires were replaced at the same time, about 3 years/5,000 kms ago.

Assuming this indicates a problem, does it mean the entire axle has to be replaced, or can I replace one or both axle ends (hubs?) If the axle has to go, can anyone advise as to what would be a suitable replacement?
Richard Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 08:01 PM   #2

Name: Francesca Knowles
Trailer: '78 Trillium 4500
Jefferson County, Washington State, U.S.A.
Registry
Hi!

My understanding is that hubs can't be replaced on the "Rub-R-Ride" axle (Dexter predecessor) that came on the early Trilliums.
Axle fixes are usually replacement jobs on this trailer.
Axles might be the most-discussed topic here- there's a real long thread discussion from earlier this year- very illuminating at least for me...
Along about post #40, some excellent, easy instructions are given about how to evaluate your axles condition.
http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...xle-42849.html

Hope this helps!

Francesca
Francesca Knowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 08:45 PM   #3

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francesca Knowles View Post
Hi!