TV advice-RAV4 V6 vs Honda Pilot, + adding tow hitch - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2018, 10:39 AM   #1

Name: Stacy
Trailer: Looking!
Wisconsin
TV advice-RAV4 V6 vs Honda Pilot, + adding tow hitch

Clueless newbie here, I'm looking for advice on buying a used tow vehicle, something to tow a 13' Scamp or similar (no bigger).

1st dumb question: if I buy a used car w/o the tow package, I can get that put in now, right? And it'll be the same as if it was put in originally? And that will give me the increased towing capacity on something like the Toyota Rav4 (V6), which says tow capacity w/o tow package is 2000 lbs, but with is 3500?

The two cars I'm looking at:
2008 Toyota Rav4 AWD V6. 78k miles. No tow hitch. $8,900. (towing capacity w/ hitch = 3500)
2005 Honda Pilot EX AWD, 44k miles, has tow hitch. $8,500. towing capacity=4500.

Thoughts? Newer car, higher miles? Older car, lower miles and tow already installed? Both are highly rated.

If I choose one w/o the hitch, how much am I looking at paying, approximately, to get it installed?

And another expense down the road -- installing trailer brakes, how much does that cost?

Sorry for the basic questions. Thanks!

StacyT
StacyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 11:08 AM   #2

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by StacyT View Post
Clueless newbie here, I'm looking for advice on buying a used tow vehicle, something to tow a 13' Scamp or similar (no bigger).

1st dumb question: if I buy a used car w/o the tow package, I can get that put in now, right? And it'll be the same as if it was put in originally? And that will give me the increased towing capacity on something like the Toyota Rav4 (V6), which says tow capacity w/o tow package is 2000 lbs, but with is 3500?

The two cars I'm looking at: