Will Nissan Frontier Short Bed tow 5th wheel Scamp?? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-08-2006, 07:51 AM   #1

Trailer: 2003 17 ft Casita Freedom Deluxe ('Rita')
Thumbs up

Just bought a Nissan Frontier Crew Cab, short bed. V6. Will it tow Scamp 5th wheel or is bed too short for clearance? Anyone have any thoughts? Must have a long bed??
I am new to fiberglass campers. Have had several mini motorhomes.
Thanks for any and all input!!
Betty L.
Betty L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:14 AM   #2

Trailer: Y2K6 Bigfoot 25 ft (25B25RQ) & Y2K3 Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
Hi Betty!

Welcome to FGRV! I don't have direct experience (yet) pulling a Scamp 5th wheel with a short bed pickup, but I'm headed to Spokane in a couple of weeks to pick up a Scamp 5th wheel with an S-10 4door short bed pickup that has been a towing combo for several years now.

It's apparently a combo that worked well for the current owners, so I'd not think, if your Nissan is otherwise equipped for the load (trailer towing package) that it would cause you any problems!

Roger
Roger H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:18 AM   #3

Trailer: Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel Custom Deluxe
I tow a Scamp 5th wheel with a Mazda 4L-V6 extended cab with the 6ft bed. Makes a good tow combination. I get 17mpg @ 65mph with the trailer in tow. Photo was taken last week in the north Georgia Mountains at Amicalola Falls State Park.
Attached Thumbnails
DSCN6742.jpg  
Mike-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 07:26 AM   #4

Trailer: Y2K6 Bigfoot 25 ft (25B25RQ) & Y2K3 Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
A photo of a Scamp 5th wheel and an S-10 4dr...
Attached Thumbnails
scamp_002.jpg  
Roger H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 07:52 PM   #5

Trailer: Boler (B1700RGH) 1979