Search for a never completed railroad - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat > Hobbies & Passions
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-13-2011, 12:51 PM   #1

Name: Russ
Trailer: In the market
Pennsylvania
Search for a never completed railroad

I have the maps, letters and research them and locate this never completed railroad from the 1880's when Wm. Vanderbilt was building it to get the Pennsylvania Railroad from entering into his territory. He started this construction in the hope that the Pennsylvania would leave but they didn't J.P. Morgan put an end to it but not before over 60 miles of it was almost completed. I have been doing this for 15 years and document all the work and study the maps to see just where it was to be built in places they never began building. I have hundreds of letters which also reveal survey routes not found on the maps.

Like going back in time. I get to meet all the property owners and the Pennsylvania Turnpike who bought the route but really never used it as well backs my work. I was even issued a permit to walk on the Turnpike to photograph what is on there as well such as when I took this shot.

Sorry my web page is down and I can't get it backup working.

The above tunnels are one in the same but 75 years apart. I have thousands of photos showing this route.
Russell A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:00 PM   #2

Name: Kathie
Trailer: U-HAUL VT16
upstate ny
Is this on the E-W toward Pittsburg part or the N-S toward Philadelphia at Jim Thorpe?
kbeale NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:16 PM   #3

Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbeale NY View Post
Is this on the E-W toward Pittsburg part or the N-S toward Philadelphia at Jim Thorpe?