78 scamp tire replacement - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2019, 09:24 PM   #1

Name: Denise
Trailer: SCAMP
Tennessee
Question 78 scamp tire replacement

Hi All! I'm new to camper world. Just purchased a mostly renovated 78 13' SCAMP. I bought new tires (with wheels) but can't get the old tire out from under the wheel well. Any suggestions as to what we're doing wrong?131596[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0343.jpg  
Denise O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 09:32 PM   #2

Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Registry
tire clearance

If you are jacking on the frame and the axle travel is not allowing the tire to clear, it may be time to replace the axle.
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 09:41 PM   #3

Tennessee
SCAMP TIRE CLEARNCE

Kenneth,

Thanks for the reply. What is "jacking on the frame". I assume the "axle travel" is what the wheel slides onto. Is it safe to pull for a short distance (maybe 30 miles) before replacement?
Old 09-23-2019, 11:08 PM   #4

Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Registry
Scamp tire change

If you jack on the frame the wheel should drop down in the opening when you jack it up. If not, the axle is old, and the arm is seized and should be replaced. Towing should be safe, but it may shake things around a bit in the RV.
Attached Thumbnails
27 jack here.jpg  
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 04:34 AM   #5

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Ut oh... could be a worn out axle that is no longer moving up and down as it should. Torsion axle has a lifespan of maybe 20 years, or 25 if very lucky and well treated. So with a 1978 camper, even if the axle was replaced once, it might be due again. And if it was never replaced then there is little doubt its shot.