Camper wannabe! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2020, 08:06 PM   #1

Name: Catherine
Trailer: In the market
Georgia
Smile Camper wannabe!

Hi everyone!
I'm a teacher in Marietta, Ga. and have been wanting a camper for years! I had a leaky pop-up for a while, which I think turned my husband off camping. I think I finally have him convinced after seeing his brother's Escape. Now that we are ready to purchase, it has gotten so hard to find a camper now! I'm hoping to find something under 10k that I can tow with my Honda Pilot.
Until the right one comes along, I'm just doing the research. This is such a goldmine of information and advice! Thanks to all of you experienced contributors!
Looking forward to seeing you on the road!
Old 07-03-2020, 04:18 AM   #2

Name: jim
Trailer: 2022 Escape19 pulled by 2014 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport
Pennsylvania
Registry
Welcome Catherine,
Your Honda Pilot is a good tow vehicle. Just keep checking the classified section here on the forum and on fiberglass classified https://www.fiberglassclassifieds.com
Old 07-03-2020, 06:57 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome to the forum!

Tow rating on Honda Pilots varies from 2000# to 5000# depending on year and drivetrain (2WD or 4WD). What do you have? We have a 2011 2WD, rated 3500/350#. I agree they are excellent tow vehicles for small and mid-size molded fiberglass trailers. Best part is they have full trailer pre-wiring, so towing set-up is fairly easy.

Under $10K means an older unit, so you’ll want to be prepared to do a careful pre-purchase inspection. There’s a helpful Buyer’s Checklist in the Document Center in the More tab at the top right of the page. Are you looking for a a fully equipped unit with galley, wet bath, furnace and A/C or something simpler?