Cold weather worthy - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-28-2016, 12:23 PM   #1

Name: Pamela
Trailer: Researching
Massachusetts
Question Cold weather worthy

Hi,

I'm a newbie who has been lurking around the website & forums for a while.

I get that these cool little trailers are economical, light and easy to handle AND last an incredibly long time due to their construction and materials. I also know that generally with the exception of the Bigfoot All Season trailers and RV's most of the other manufacturers trailers are designed for three season use unless custom ordered with extra insulation and heating pads for the fresh water, grey & black water tanks.

I'd love to purchase a used, small, inexpensive fiberglass trailer like the 13' Casita but am concerned that aside from us freezing in the New England winters, that the tanks and pipes of the trailer would freeze too.

Is there a way to retrofit efficiently and effectively thus "winterproofing/weatherproofing" a fiberglass trailer for someone who doesn't have ANY experience with trailers but has lots of technical and practical experience with a lot of other things?

Thanx,
punkpup
punkpup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 12:38 PM   #2

Name: Lyle
Trailer: Scamp 16, previously Scamp 13
None
Most folks forego a water system if used in the winter. Drain/Winterize the system, then use water jugs/portable supplies with a plastic dish pan in the sink. Could probably easily rig a removable catchment under the sink as an alternative to the dishpan.