Dipping in - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-22-2021, 11:30 AM   #1

Name: Laura
Trailer: In the market
Oregon
Dipping in

Hi, I'm new to the RV scene and looking for a trailer to begin. I had my eye on the Scamps, 13 or 16, but wondered what other people's favorites were and why?

Any thoughts you'd like to share?

As for me, I will most often be solo, like to surf in Oregon, so the ocean and rain will often be involved, and I might do some campground hosting. Otherwise, needs not complicated, but must have heat and a good bed. I am mechanically aware, but don't want to have a lot of maintenance to do to get started.

Don't want anything more than 3,500lbs fully loaded.

Any suggestions?

Nice to meet you,
Laura
Laura in Oregon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2021, 11:38 AM   #2

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
Depends on your tow vehicle rating, but Scamp would be a good choice as they are still in production. We had a 13 foot Uhaul fiberglass camper for several years, but they are long out of production, have a lot of unique to them only parts, and many issues that most people aren't aware of until after they buy one and start doing some research. We now have a Casita 17, but they are fairly tongue heavy.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2021, 11:50 AM   #3

Oregon
Thanks for the reply. I can tow up to 5,000lb on my 2006 Jeep Liberty with tow package and trans cooler, but want to go a bit lighter.
Old 11-22-2021, 07:05 PM   #4

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
With a 5000# tow rating and a 3500# target weight you can actually have up to a 17' molded trailer. Lots of choices, new and used. Realize that all lengths are tongue-to-bumper, so the actual cabin will be around 3' less.