Factory installed Transmission Cooler vs. aftermarket - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-31-2015, 09:34 AM   #1

Name: Martina
Trailer: 2013 19' Escape Trailer
Oregon
Factory installed Transmission Cooler vs. aftermarket

This is my first time posting and starting a new thread: My husband and I just recently bought a used 19' Escape Trailer. We are totally new to towing a trailer and are searching for a vehicle to tow the trailer. We are looking at the 2016 Honda Pilot and the Toyota Highlander. We were wondering about the pros and cons of a factory installed transmission and oil cooler of the Highlander vs. the aftermarket one on the Honda Pilot. Any thoughts on that?
Martina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 09:43 AM   #2

Name: Frederick / Janis
Trailer: Previously Scamp 13 2002,2016. Scamp 16 on order
Michigan
First, be sure either of those vehicles can handle the "real world" tow weight of a loaded up for camping, Escape 19. Be sure they can handle the tongue weight as well. It is fairly common knowledge not to exceed 75% of the tow capacity nor 75-80% of the tongue weight capacity for best results. DO NOT base your decisions soley on weights stated on factory websites as those are way, way off from the real world, for many reasons.

That would be step one before discussing the issue you brought forward. I almost always prefer factory installations, but aftermarket stuff can also do a good job if sourced properly and installed properly.
bpfick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 10:05 AM   #3

Oregon
Factory installed transmission cooler vs aftermarket

Thank you for your thoughts. I know we have a lot to learn. Have spoken to someone who has been towing his 2013 Escape with a 2013 Highlander and has had great experiences. Have also spoken with Escape Trailer Industries who had not objections to towing with the Highlander.