Hello and we just bought a 1973 Trillium - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2020, 01:50 PM   #1

Name: Kim
Trailer: 1973 Trillium
Alberta
Registry
Hello and we just bought a 1973 Trillium

Hello from Calgary, AB, Canada.
We just bought a 1973 Trillium 1300.
First time in my life I have owned a trailer of any kind (previously tented). I'm a newbie, excited to soak up some knowledge!
It needs some repairs but overall is in good shape.
The most pressing issue is that I need to install some safety bars or something for the bunk beds so my 1 and 3 year old kids can safely sleep in them. Has a thread or topic on safety bars in fiber glass trailers been started somewhere already?
(Also I'm super happy this trailer fits into our garage BONUS!)

Kim
kimnmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:07 PM   #2

Name: Murray
Trailer: 1975 Trillium 1300
BC
Registry
Funny you should mention that. I just removed the cargo net I used when our kids were that age.

I don’t know where I got it but I attached the bottom straps to the underside of the top bunk and added a couple hooks inside for it to hang from. As a bonus, it held up the bunk when my son knocked out the support rods (on purpose I think).

Click image for larger version

Name:	C088A9E8-C451-4EB1-A95C-E91D4572A68C.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	239.2 KB
ID:	137711

Name:	D3F079F8-3C89-4BED-B369-2F2070E4FE66.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	258.5 KB
ID:	137712

Name:	F8F671DA-A795-4F37-AB6E-3FCF0FDAB77D.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	407.5 KB
ID:	137713
Chilliwack Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 07:28 PM   #3

Alberta
Registry
Great idea

Hi Murray,
Great idea to use a cargo net! Thanks for the pictures and such a great tip! Where on the underside of the bunk did you attach the bottom cargo net? Did you attach it to the bunk itself (the wooden bottom) or to the back fiberglass wall?
Thanks,
Kim