Help with models in California for 13-15 foot trailer - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-08-2019, 06:16 PM   #1

Name: Deborah
Trailer: Currently shopping
CA
Help with models in California for 13-15 foot trailer

My name is Deborah, and I'm just beginning to explore buying a very small trailer for just me. I live in Southern California, and while I like what I see on the Casita and Scamp websites, there is no way that I would want to drive one home that far, since I will be on my own. My husband and I have owned a 1995 31 ft Seabreeze, and he recently passed away. We loved camping at nearby beaches, and I want to continue that with something I can maintain on my own.

So my first questions are, if I decide I want to buy something new, are there good brands located close to me? And if I want to buy used, what are the best brands, and are there any I should avoid?

I'm looking for something I can tow with a mid-sized SUV rated for 5000 lbs, not purchased yet, something like a Kia Sorento or Hyundai Sante Fe XL. Ideally it would no longer than 18 feet total length to end of hitch (so as to fit in beachside spot at favorite place) so maybe a 15 ft trailer. Must haves are toilet, stove, and A/C (it gets hot here). Strongly prefer a little shower, and maybe microwave for when I have hookups.

I've been remembering from posts from other forums that I may need extended mirrors, and almost certainly need a transmission cooler and trailer brake controller, so will need to learn about that

I'm excited to find this group, because I like the idea of all fiberglass, as opposed to the EPDM rubber roof we had on the RV. Seems like all fiberglass will be much easier to maintain; is that correct?