Hi I am Gregg - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-23-2024, 10:07 PM   #1

Name: Gregg
Trailer: in the market
Tennessee
Smile Hi I am Gregg

I'm just beginning the process of researching a small camper. I'd like to use it with a hybrid SUV, so that limits the weight to 3500 lb, which seems pretty doable.
Gregge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2024, 10:33 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Very doable. 3500# gets you up to around 16’ in length. Just know that with molded fiberglass, lengths are overall length including tongue and bumper. Cabin size is about 3’ less.

Best wishes in your search!
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2024, 12:25 AM   #3

Name: Lynn
Trailer: '06 Scamp 16
Rochester, New York
We've towed our 2006 Scamp '16 with two different Highlander Hybrids since 2009. A good combination.
Lynn Eberhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2024, 12:22 PM   #4

Name: Dan
Trailer: Casita 17 SD
Florida
Hybrid pulling an egg?

You can see from the other posts that hybrid SUV's do pull the lighter fiberglass campers. That bodes well for the future. However, there may be a catch here. The overall important measure is the gross vehicle weight rating for the vehicle plus camper plus occupants and finally all the stuff that makes a camping trip pleasant.
Further, with this combo you may want to look into where you wish to travel. Hybrids have smaller engines in most cases and their cooling systems are scaled as such. If you want to tackle the continental divide in July with a full load make sure the cooling can handle it and still run the A/C for the driver and passengers.