Hi... I am new in these here parts... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-30-2016, 09:04 PM   #1

Name: Dee
Trailer: Currently Shopping
Georgia
Hi... I am new in these here parts...

Just located the site and I have been shopping for a small camper trailer that I can manage by myself so I can visit my son regularly as he has just graduated from boot camp. The burro looks reasonable in price and size
KaleidoscopeKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 09:35 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome, Dee!

The Burro is one of many 13' molded fiberglass trailers. In egg parlance that means they have a 10'x6.5' shell on a 13' long frame, tongue-to-bumper.

The "Manufacturers" tab at the top lists many of the current and legacy makes. Not all make a 13' model. Scamp is the most common, along with Casita and Happier Camper. Armadillo and Relic also make semi-custom 13' trailers. Many others, including the Burro, are no longer made.

Most of the 13'ers have a similar layout: dinette/double bed at the back, small galley in the middle, and bunks or a small dinette at the front. A few, mostly newer, substitute a wet bath in front.

Weights range from about 1300 pounds to around 2200 pounds, with 1600-1800 pounds pretty typical for a loaded-for-camping 13'er. The thread Trailer Weights in the Real World has some good data on actual weights of different makes (the 800 pound Burro listed is probably a gutted shell). Post #297 links to a spreadsheet of the data.