Hi, I am Richard - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-19-2016, 04:10 PM   #1

Name: Richard
Trailer: Casita
Utah
Hi, I am Richard

Howdy, my wife, Carol, gave our then 37 year old Spring Bar tent to our son. I had been counting on that as part of our preparedness equipment. She informed me that our once enjoyable tent camping was now being performed too close to the ground, and I think she's right. Our best friends purchased a 5th wheel Scamp, and my wife suggested we look into a trailer, so we could enjoy the outdoors together. I studied the Scamp so far as to read lots of Scamp forum threads and ran across one intriguing message that said, "We love our Scamp, but it's no Casita." So I looked at the Casita website and fell in love. We purchased our trailer and I drove to the factory to take delivery. The folks at Casita were endowed with Southern hospitality and manners; a touching adornment they placed in our new trailer was a copy of the Bible. Our Casita towed like a dream behind our Chevy Trailblazer on the way home to Utah from Rice, Texas. A couple of years later we pulled an 8.5% grade at 15 mph on the way home from one weekend camp; we decided a new tow vehicle was in store. We bought a used Silverado 2500HD with a Duramax diesel and Allison transmission. We love camping. The Spirit DX is just right for the two of us, one grandchild at a time, and our two Lhasa Apso SND puppies. SND is short for sneaky neighbor dog, a mix of Pug and Short-haired Miniature Dachshund. They are so fun. I love ham radio and am in the process of installing equipment including solar panels for off-grid power. I'll have 2m, 70cm, 220, and HSMM-Mesh in voice, packet, APRS and other data modes, hopefully internet over mobile hotspot. Maybe some video later on mesh.
R Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 05:55 PM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Charlie Y