Hi, I am Tandy. I'm new to fiberglassrv. - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2015, 11:26 AM   #1

Name: Tandy
Trailer: looking around
Illinois
Hi, I am Tandy. I'm new to fiberglassrv.

This my first time to be a part of any online discussion group/forum and I feel a bit challenged just by the intricacies of this website, so thanks for the automatic welcome! I just retired after more than 40 years as a teacher, writer, and museum educator. My dream is to own a small RV trailer and hit the road with my husband, Dan Keding, a professional storyteller, educator, and writer, and our aussie, Mac. We are shopping for the right trailer (small, lightweight, comfortable) and SUV to pull it. I've never pulled a camper trailer before but I have pulled a small horse trailer and I'm eager to learn. I've done some backpacking outside the USA, but now I'm ready to explore our national and state parks and spend time in Canada. I hope I'll get to know some of you as I enjoy the years ahead!
tandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2015, 11:29 AM   #2

Name: Dave W
Trailer: Trillium 4500 - 1976, 1978, 1979, 1300 - 1977, and a 1973
Alberta
Registry
Welcome Tandy. You will find a wealth of information, and opinions here.
David Tilston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2015, 11:49 AM   #3

Illinois
I would like to hear comments on an egg camper (15-17' long).
Old 10-27-2015, 11:58 AM   #4

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome, Tandy!

"Small" and "lightweight" are relative terms. There's a great variety in molded fiberglass trailers. The smallest are around 13' long (total length, the cabin is about 10') and they range up to about 25'. Weights range from under 1500 pounds loaded for camping up to 6000 pounds or more.