Hi Iam new...a newbie - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-11-2013, 11:31 PM   #1

Name: Mitchell
Trailer: Shopping
Ontario
Hi Iam new...a newbie

Hi
Likes I said I am new to RV'S. I would like a RV for retirement for one to three people at most. Usually one or two. I would like a eggshell for a number of reasons.

1) I would like to keep it all year on my driveway. I have looked into this. Because of bylaws I can do it provided it is parked in my garage. Problem is height of garage door is 82 1/4 inches high. It might be possible to put it in garage if I use smaller rims (no rubber) and/or a rims cut down just for storage. Other choice is to heighten the garage door opening. I will try and avoid that if possible. Anyone know the diameter of the drums without the rims? Anyone done this and what was the net loss in height? I would like to use a Trillium as they seem to be the lowest in height.

2) I like the eggshells because they are light in weight, narrow, short and hopefully easy to tow. Great for one or two people.

3)They are easy on gas and can be towed by many cars/mini vans. My mini van is rated for 2000 lbs. (I do not have the tow package which is 3500 lbs.) but I had to replace the rad. with a heavy duty one. So I bet it is now 2400 lbs. Will add a large tranny cooler when I get a eggshell. That should raise it to 2800 lbs.

4) Looking for a late model/new eggshell like a Trillum size. No pop ups. Prefer same Dimensions as the Trillium ( no wider and no higher), must have a shower with a portable potti.