Hi, I'm Cynthia (CynSum) - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2015, 11:02 AM   #1

Name: Cynthia
Trailer: Tote n Tarry
California
Hi, I'm Cynthia (CynSum)

Hi. I'm a brand new, proud owner of a 13' camper built in Santa Rosa, CA in 1973 by a company called Tote n Tarry. It's similar to a Scamp. And I'm a newbie to towing and the RV world. I'm looking for info on what I need to know/learn to be road ready and safe. My little trailer can be towed by my Toyota Matrix, I get my hitch tomorrow, and I'd love to hit the road. What's words of wisdom do you have? What's most important to know for safety, any links on inspecting my trailer/car for road readiness and what other tips can you share? Thanks mucho!
CynSum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 11:49 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet (want 13 ft fiber glass
Registry
Welcome to the FGRV forum family and congratulations on your new purchase. I would encourage you to bring the trailer to a reputable tire shop and have them inspect the tires and have them replaced if they are over 5 years old (even if they look great) because tires dry rot over time, and WILL fail. A flat tire while on the road can not only cause damage to the fiberglass around the fender opening, but loss of control, which can really cost you. I would also encourage you to have the wheel bearings cleaned, inspected and greased.
Dave & Paula
David B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 02:18 PM   #3

Name: Peter
Trailer: G30 Elite Class C
British Columbia
Cynthia can you send or show us pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by CynSum View Post