I'm about to be a member of this family - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-23-2009, 02:16 PM   #1

Trailer: 2009 17 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe (hatched June 2009)
I'm a retired AARP and got into nature/landscape photography to try and keep my brain half active....and see some of this great country...my bones got tired of tent camping so I stated looking at TT options...got to the point that I really liked the fiberglass idea....small footprint and ability to go off road....looked at all the models avaiable and settled on the Casita...though all the fireglass models would have filled the bill...living in Texas, casita factory was just closer..

This is my first time in a Travel Trailer so I have no clue what I am getting into other than a great adventure...any help would be appreciated...especially what I should be looking for when I take delivery...also any advice what to insure I do and not do....I will be towing with a 2006 Nissan xterra, the casita folks will put on a sway bar...I am looking at getting a WDH(2 arm) based on the short wheel base(106)...read where I should not get one with overkill...try to keep tongue weight for it between 400-500lbs.....most I have seen are 600lbs..... I did get the high axle, 15 inch wheels...I got most of the options for the SD...will probably get a honda or Yamaha generator later...unless you folks think thats overkill..

I appreciate any and all advice...for those interested my photo website is www.texasreflectionsphotogaphy

Again thanks....Horst
Horst K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 09:15 PM   #2

Trailer: 1975 13 ft Trillium
Registry
Well, to the site and has 'they' often add, Glad You Found Us.