New Casita owner - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2020, 10:50 AM   #1

Name: Rick
Trailer: Escape
Lawrence
New Casita owner

Hello everybody . . . RS from Lawrence, KS.

Just bought a 20 year old Casita Deluxe (Spirit) and really excited to take our first trip to California to see our son and new granddaughter. My wife and I will take a few weekend shake down trips locally to get a feel for trailering.

I have a Honda Ridgeline truck which should handle the rig without much difficulty but I am an inexperienced driver with trailers.

All suggestions, tips, ideas etc. that will make the trip more fun, safer, etc welcome. Don't hold back.

R.
thunderworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2020, 11:04 AM   #2

Name: Lynn
Trailer: '06 Scamp 16
Rochester, New York
Properly adjust your brake controller (instructions can probably be found online) and practice backing up in an empty parking lot. When backing, the rear of the trailer will move in the direction of the bottom of the steering wheel. Keep steering wheel movement and vehicle speed slow.
Lynn Eberhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2020, 11:06 AM   #3

Lawrence
Thanks Lynn. Will do.
Old 06-14-2020, 11:12 AM   #4

Name: Rita
Trailer: 2018 Casita SD; 2017 Toyota Highlander with tow package
Kansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderworks View Post
Hello everybody . . . RS from Lawrence, KS.

Just bought a 20 year old Casita Deluxe (Spirit) …

R.
Hi RS from Lawrence; I'm RLS from Lawrence. Welcome to the fiberglass family and have fun.
rlsooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 02:02 PM   #5

Name: Randy
Trailer: Casita 17 FD
Florida
I wonder what year your Ridgeline is and what size your Casita is. We have a 17 FD Casita and a 2008 Ridgeline. Towing is no problem, just using an antisway bar.