New, exploring possibilities, trailer virgin - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-24-2011, 08:48 AM   #1

Name: Mike
Trailer: 1996 16' Casita SD
Louisiana
Registry
New, exploring possibilities, trailer virgin

Hi, my name is Mike. I live in Louisiana. Love camping, long walks on the beach and puppies
Seriously, I love camping. I'm starting a search for a fiberglass camper my VW can pull. I would love an Eriba Puck, but I know they're hard to find in the US. So I've been looking around the site and see lots of great little campers that look like they will fit the bill. My problem is I'm a total newbie at pulling trailers, total weight, stopping and other things one may want to know a bit about before they attach to the vehicle and try to make it to the nearby National Forest.
I will peruse the site a bit more and probably ask some questions that have been answered a million times -sorry in advance.
My VW is a 1971 single cab with a freshly built 1776cc engine. The truck is rated a 1-ton. I don't know what that means in towing abilities,though.
I'm moving from a 1974 Westfalia to the truck so I can reduce my "herd" of vehicles.
Here's a pic of each vehicle (sorry for the blurry one). The truck actually has sides to the bed- they just aren't on yet.
Thanks for letting me pick your brains and possibly make a connection concerning a purchase!

itlives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:30 AM   #2

Trailer: 16 ft U-Haul VT
Registry
Nice-looking SC. I have a blue one that I hope I live long enough to be able to get running for VW shows with our Uhaul.

CindyL
CindyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 03:16 PM   #3

Louisiana
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by CindyL View Post