New Member from Dallas, TX - Fiberglass RV
RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 12-06-2020, 02:43 PM   #1

Name: Deon
Trailer: In the Market
Texas
Smile New Member from Dallas, TX

Hello everyone! I am so happy to be apart of this awesome community.

I am currently looking for a smaller fiberglass travel trailer with a bathroom. (17'-20')

Current interests are the 16ft Scamps, Burro 17ft, Casita Spirit Deluxe 16ft, etc.

I am in the Texas Area, but wouldn't mind traveling to surrounding areas such as Arkansas, Kansas, Oklahoma, & Louisiana.

Will mostly be using for weekend camping trips for now, with hopes of being my full time living space.

I am a newbie to the RV/camper world and am always open to new advice and tips for the new journey ahead of me.

Extremely happy for this community!

Thank you!
Deandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 03:37 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome to the best l'il trailer forum in the world wide web!!

Speaking of little, you said 17-20', but several of your choices are shorter than that, so I thought it'd be worth pointing out the difference between overall length (tongue to bumper) and cabin length (living space). The difference is usually around 3' unless the unit has an extended tongue or bumper for storage.

Conventional framed trailers designate their models by cabin length, which means the overall length will be about 3' longer. Say you're looking at a Jayco 17RB (don't if that's a thing or not, I just made it up). It has a 17' cabin, so the total length will be around 20'.

Molded fiberglass trailer manufacturers (and Airstream, BTW) designate models by overall length, so the cabin is around 3' shorter. That's actually the older convention, so it's not marketing exaggeration or fish stories. A Casita 17SD (that's a real thing!) has a cabin that's about 14' long.