New member in NC - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-26-2016, 07:04 AM   #1

Name: September
Trailer: Happier Camper
North Carolina
New member in NC

Hi All,

I have been lurking in the forums for a while now, so I thought I'd introduce myself. My husband and I have a lot of backpacking experience, and now we are hoping to get the kids involved in camping more by getting a small trailer. We have a large screen house with side walls, and our vehicle has a 2000 lb towing capacity (in the US).

We are thinking about the HC-1 Happier Camper for next year, but we would love to sit in a 13' fiberglass camper to get a feel for the size. I al also curious about others' experiences with a family of 4. The girls are 7 and 8 years old and likely will be between 5'7" and 5'9" in a few years. Hubbie is 6'1" and
I am 5'7", so I am curious about sleeping 4 in a 13' scamp/casita/HC-1. I have slept in shelters where everyone snores, but I have not slept in a camper yet 😀
Toxdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 07:48 AM   #2

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
Sounds like your vehicle limits you to a 13, but it will be really tight trying to sleep 4 in one. Will the kids sleep in a tent or the screen house. We use a Eureka Northern Breeze screen house that has flaps to close it in, but we use it for extra space for sitting and eating. When our kids were home we used a pop-up camper, bought one for our daughter who has 3 kids, and now giving our old pop-up to our son who has 3 kids.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 08:18 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome, September!