New Owner -- Help with Converter/Power - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-22-2013, 08:21 PM   #1

Name: Anne
Trailer: In the market
Oregon
New Owner -- Help with Converter/Power

Hi,

I'm new to owning a 80's 13' Casita Deluxe. This is the first RV I've ever owned. I love it so far and I'm just trying to learn all of it.

I'm trying to understand how my converter/power works. I thought if I plugged it into shore power my 110 outlets would work. However, they didn't work today when I did this, but the 9v lights were still working fine.

I'm guessing I need to flip the 30 on the converter. I didn't try it yet because I had to run, but I really want to know how all of the switches work. The previous owner sent it to me with the one middle switch on.

It's probably obvious, but I searched around and couldn't figure it. I'm probably being a knucklehead. Could someone explain how the switches and converter work with shore power and with battery power.

THanks so much!

Anne
Attached Thumbnails
photo.jpg  
Anne in NW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:29 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
I don't know the switches on an 80s 13' Scamp. However, the converter charges the battery. Modern converters will power the 12 Volt system while the battery is charging or if there is no battery. The converter is convenient location for fuses and circuit breakers. My 2006 didn't have the circuit breakers or fuses marked nor listed as to what was what. If there's cover or door over the breakers look at that to see if there's a list of what breaker and fuse go where.
Old 11-22-2013, 09:26 PM   #3

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry