New to RVing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2013, 09:00 AM   #1

Name: Bill
Trailer: New to RVing
Florida
New to RVing

Hello!

I'm new to the RV world but completely fascinated. Last Christmas we rented one for a week to get the feel and fell in love. We also travel extensively by car for work, and we have to slow down for a closer look every time we pass one on the highway. As time and finances allow, we are now looking at purchasing an RV.

From a design/maintenance perspective, I love the molded fiberglass units. . . they seem to solve a number of issues I worry about. So now it's a matter of narrowing down the choices. Any suggestions or recommendations would be welcomed!

A few criteria currently on the table:

• There are two of us, so a double bed is tight but do-able.
• I am 6'3" so head/leg room in important.
• I have limited towing experience, so something lighter/easier is great.
• We will purchase a towing vehicle based on the RV we select.

Huge thanks for any pointers, and we're looking forward to seeing you all at an RV rally soon!

Bill
VuMastr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:50 AM   #2

Trailer: 2009 17 ft Eggcamper / Chevy S-10
Registry
I have a pointer...
...buy my EggCamper!

Meant to be funny, but not completely in jest. Just today we put down a deposit on a new Escape, so we will soon post our 17' EggCamper for sale - (and we conveniently live in Florida).
Ray N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:58 AM   #3

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
FG campers with queen bed and plus 6 foot ceilings are:

1. Escape
  2. EggCamper
  3. Casita 17 foot
  4. Parkliner
  5. Lil Snoozy
  6. ......

C'mon eggheads, help me fill out the list.
Old 09-23-2013, 12:37 PM   #4

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Scamp 16' head room inside is 6' 3" and the Bigfoot 17'5" is 6' 4" - neither has a queen bed.