Newbie - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2014, 12:10 PM   #1

Name: Newbie333
Trailer: In the market
California

Hi everyone! I'm new to all of this. I've never owned a trailer or Motorhome, but I have decided to do full time RV ing. I have 2 medium sized dogs who will travel with me, and I'm hoping to get some input from you nice people

I've decided on a fiberglass RV for many reasons but the biggest is health. The older non fibrrglass rv's are loaded with VOC's, and I react to it strongly. I'm very sensitive to chemicals. Another reason is I'm hoping not to have to do a lot of maintenance, I'm not very mechanically inclined. (I wish I was, I've seen your before and after posts and I'm very impressed!)

I know I would like an aluminum frame, all electric, solar.....I'm concerned about having an ac unit and a furnace. I think I can find places to plug a small electric heater in, but the a/c I have to have.....I've been reading your posts about having ac on the top vs inside, and I'm perplexed.....

The casita is a nice trailer, but I sat in one for a while and the carpet bothered me. I know I'm picky as heck, but I'm going to be full timing and need to love what I'm living in.....I also need a queen sized bed.....

I'd love to own an Oliver some day. Until then, I've narrowed it down to the Escape, lil snoozy, egg camper, and maybe a trillium or boler, if it's been completely redone. My budget is 15k or under........any ideas would be helpful, I feel overwhelmed, and want to find one and start full timing!

I also haves Prius so I'm going to trade it in for maybe a Chevy Tahoe or suburban.....

*feeling lost an overwhlemed* but in a good way
Newbie333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 12:29 PM   #2

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida