Newbie - Looking for advice - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-11-2011, 12:32 PM   #1

Name: Dan
Trailer: 1973 PlayPac Hitch-Hut
New York
Newbie - Looking for advice

Hi everyone. My lady and I are in the market for a 13' fiberglass camper and are looking for a little help on some of the logistics of the purchase.

Once a purchase had been made or an eBay bid won, how does one transfer the title, get the trailer registered, and whatever else for the pick-up. What has to be done prior to the pick-up? We live in Brooklyn, NY so chances are we will have to make a little road trip to pick our new purchase up.

Any help would be appreciated. We know these are total beginner questions but we didn't know where else to look! Thanks!
DCass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:48 PM   #2

Trailer: Helite
Get the notarized and signed Bill Of Sale with the Vin and selling price along with the signed title and take it to your DMV to get it transfered into your name. Don't purchase any vehicle that does not have a title. Once you have the title than you can go ahead and get the license plate. You should be able to do this at the same time you get the title.

Make sure the seller verifies that the tires, wheel bearings and running lights are all OK along with the wiring connector type and size of trailer ball.
Art VanDelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:54 PM   #3

Name: Dan
Trailer: 1973 PlayPac Hitch-Hut
New York
Thanks so much. My concern is also getting the trailer home without having the plates or registration in my name. Should I have the seller mail me the title and a bill of sale after the purchase and go to the DMV before taking the road trip to pick it up?

Thanks again.
DCass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 01:43 PM   #4

Name: Greg
Trailer: 72 Boler American
Indiana