Nice to meet you, looking for advice - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2019, 05:09 AM   #1

Name: Razvan
Trailer: Looking for advice in building one
Cluj
Nice to meet you, looking for advice

Hello everyone, I'm Razvan and few months ago I discovered the teardrop trailers and now I can't stop thinking of it.

I plan to start a DIY project and build a fiberglass teardrop trailer from scratch. I am an electrical engineer and I want to implement a lot of "smart" features to it, starting from bluetooth connection to audio until a wall mounted touchscreen to control the lightning, temperature and many more.

My question, as a newly initiated in fiberglass molding, is what material is often used to create the mold?

I mean, I will create the final mold (mother) from strengthen fiberglass, but to create this I need to have a 1:1 shape of the trailer.

I could use wood and steel sheets, but I want to make edges rounded and more friendly looking. My idea is to have the outer shell in one piece as much as possible.

I saw some use polyurethane foam and shape it with a 3d CNC machine, but at this point looks too expensive for me.

Any advice a newbie can get (except buying one already made) is much appreciated.

I will keep you updated as it goes.

Happy RV-ing
razvancuceu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:26 AM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Mike
Trailer: Boler13/trillium4500/buro13
Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by razvancuceu View Post
Hello everyone, I'm Razvan and few months ago I discovered the teardrop trailers and now I can't stop thinking of it.