Now what? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-25-2014, 10:46 PM   #1

Name: Sarah
Trailer: Scamp
Oregon
Now what?

After months of searching for the right little trailer, I finally picked up my very own 1980 '13 Scamp!

Now I just need to figure out where to start! It's in pretty good condition for sitting on a farm in Washington untouched for 2 years, but its got some things that need fixing as well! It has a sagging door, a water tank that hasn't been used for 7+ years and when we tried to test the burners there was a burst of flames that came out of the knob!

I have been poking around this forum for a few months now and I know there is a great wealth of information, but I can't decide where to start. What is most important? Where is an easy place to jump in? Maybe I will just start cleaning and see what happens....

Here is a picture of her on our drive home. Don't mind the pool noodle on the back end! It was a last min fix since my hitch was too high and no where was open on a Sunday to get it fixed! I stopped in Safeway and grabbed some tape and pool noodle to keep her tail end from getting scrapped in case we hit a bump! She made it home in one piece and I didn't even scrape a noodle! Better safe and funny looking then sorry!! Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1401079570.268126.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	71544
summooreplz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:26 AM   #2

Name: Brandi
Trailer: 1985 Uhaul CT
Texas
So you decided on a different alternative energy source! Going with wind power instead of solar like the rest of us? Do those things create drag?
Brandiwhne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:38 AM   #3

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by summooreplz View Post