Scamp 19' 5th Wheel for family of 4? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-07-2014, 09:21 PM   #1

Name: Jared
Trailer: WTB a 19' Scamp
Ontario
Scamp 19' 5th Wheel for family of 4?

hi, I am new to rving/trailering, although I have been camping a fair bit, and have used a tent trailer a few times. I am currently researching to find a travel trailer or fifth wheel for my family. I like the idea of a lighter weight trailer and something not too long for towing purposes. I am going to be buying a half ton truck in the next year so likely an f150 as a tow vehicle. Would any of you recommend the scamp 5th wheel for a family of 4 (kids are 2 and newborn, but will be 4 and 2 when I buy)? What makes a fiberglass trailer better than "normal travel trailers? Thanks,
Jared
j-rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:36 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
"Better Than" you ask, let me tell you a very few of the ways:

1. Less water leaks due to fewer seams
2. Less water damage should a leak occur, seldom is there structural damage
3. Much longer life expectancy, many of the original 1970-74 FGRV's are still in demand and in use. (Mine is a 1973) How many even 30 y.o. stickys are still on the road?
4. Much better value retention, many buyers sell for as much or more than they originally paid.
5. More space efficient, no monsters here.
6. Less wind resistance and weight for size.
7. Can be pulled with smaller vehicles, including daily drivers
8. Much lower maintenance repairs and expenses, easier to keep clean
9. Ageless design, never appears out-of-date
10. Real chick magnets in the campgrounds (But don't tell your wife)