Scamp 5th wheel - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2016, 09:22 PM   #1

Name: Jimmie
Trailer: Scamp 19
Texas
Scamp 5th wheel

Hello all.

I'm new to RV's so please forgive what may seem like dumb questions

I am considering buying a Scamp 19' 5th wheel. My tow vehicle is a Tundra Crew Max short bed. Can this work especially in sharp turns?

All opinions/experience will be appreciated.

Jimmie

Cedrar Park, Texas
Jimmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 06:32 AM   #2

Name: Paul
Trailer: '04 Scamp 19D, TV:Tacoma 3.5L 4door, SB
Colorado
Welcome to the Towing World!
You will have to mount the 2" ball hitch according to the Scamp specifications, I think it is 59.5 inches (minimum) from the bumper corner, so there is enough clearance to turn. The Scamp might require the 3" raise option, so it tows reasonably level. Both can be accomplished with not too much trouble.

Re: turning radius, I have a Tacoma (4-door, short bed). I can turn the tightest turn and the cab to Scamp loft has probably 8 - 10 inches clearance. Backing up is different, jacknifing can close that gap and cause damage, so you need to pay attention. Hope this helps.

By the way, don't list phone numbers in your posts. Use the PM (Private Messaging) system.
Paul O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 09:31 AM   #3

Name: Dennis
Trailer: Scamp
Minnesota
I can turn my rig at full lock either direction. Sharp turns are no problem. If you mount the hitch properly, you can turn with the trailer as sharp as allowed by your truck.
Old 05-21-2016, 09:48 AM   #4

Name: Jimmie
Trailer: Scamp 19
Texas
Thank you. Good idea on the phone number. I get so many telemarketing calls I just assume everyone has it anyway so I forget sometimes.