Seasonal Worker Wanting Home on Wheels - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-02-2022, 10:19 PM   #1

Name: Amanda
Trailer: in the market
OR
Red face Seasonal Worker Wanting Home on Wheels

Hi! I am new to the trailer community but am looking for a trailer to live in full-time. I am a seasonal worker not tied down to any particular place and thought trailer life could be a much better alternative to constantly renting and moving! I have a 2013 Ford Escape Titanium which I believe has a 3,500 towing capacity but I still need to double-check/put a hitch on it.

I just looked at a 1999 casita spirit and fell in love. Unfortunately, its listing price is well out of my budget but there are some issues with the trailer that I would love some advice on.
1) The owner says the previous owner told them the heater doesn't work but it is unknown why. Long term I want to put a pellet-burning stove in (for a drier heat source) so I don't know if it's worth getting fixed. Also, there is an AC unit that I would probably also take out does this have a resale value?
2) I would love to put in a composting toilet, how difficult is it to take the toilet out? Is there a resale value in it?
3) Owner cannot confirm if the interior stove works or the shower.
4) There are some holes from a cabinet the owner took out that need to be filled along with some poorly caulked previous holes and caulking around the windows.

Any and all advice about trailer living, renovating, bargaining, or further questions are welcome!!
manda_gio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 08:09 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry