Shopping for Scamp and Ready to Travel - Fiberglass RV
Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-29-2021, 03:18 PM   #1

Name: Linda
Trailer: Currently Shopping
VA
Shopping for Scamp and Ready to Travel

I am new to RV and recently retired. Looking to buy a 13' Scamp trailer and wondering if anyone has one to show so I can see before ordering. I live in the Winchester VA area. - Linda
NewLife2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2021, 06:17 PM   #2

Name: Jane
Trailer: Bigfoot 25B21RB
California
Linda,
So happy to see another woman solo trailer person.

The best thing you can do is contact Scamp & ask to send you contact info on owners in your area who have volunteered to show their trailers.

One web source you should definately check out: fiberglass-rv-4sale.com

You'll get a great idea of prices and may even find your dream trailer. This site is legitimate. It's owner is on this forum and has an Escape. I believe he once had a 13' Scamp or Casita. If you PM him, I'm sure he will be glad to help you out.

The other thing you should do, assuming you are fully vaccinated, is look into upcoming Rallies in your area. That's how you will see a variety of Fiberglass trailers and converse with owners on the pros and cons of each type.

Regarding your potential trailer. I assume you intend to solo and, as a newby, are concerned about towing. I strongly suggest you be open to a larger, 16-19' trailer with a galley and bath with a shower. A dedicated sleeping area and dinnette are desirable. I suggest this because a decent floor plan with accomodations is so much more enjoyable once you get to your camping spot, and the towing experience is really not that different for a 19' trailer over a 13'. Whatever you get - you need an appropriately sized TV and a good Weight Distribution System.