Single, white Senior ready to Solo - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-20-2018, 02:01 PM   #1

Name: Diana
Trailer: 2017 Windjammer trailer
South Carolina
Single, white Senior ready to Solo

Hi, I'm Diana, and I've been RVing for over 30 years with the companionship of my sweet husband. Doug passed away in June 2017. We started tent camping, class c Holiday Rambler, a 30 ft Tahoe and finally our dream RV, a Forest River Windjammer. I've tried camping with Harley, my dog, but it's just too emotional. I want to downsize to a vehicle I can handle by myself and enjoy meeting up with like-minded folks. So, I'm open to ideas and suggestions for vehicles. I'm grateful for groups like this. People who like to RV are the best!
** I titled this thread as a spoof on the movie "Single, white Female" since I am a movie buff, not a racist!
DianaQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 02:42 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome, Diana!

This forum is specifically devoted to all-molded fiberglass travel trailers (i.e., "egg"-type trailers like Scamp and Casita), so of course we'll try to steer you in that direction.

For one person only, a 13' Scamp or similar- with or without a full bathroom- is about as small as they come. It can be towed easily by any number of compact and mid-sized crossover vehicles. The 13' trailers generally weigh between 1500 and 2000 pounds fully loaded. You can pull one with a tow rating as low as 2000#, but most people find additional margin preferable.

For more space and storage you can step up to 16-19' trailers, but you'll need a larger vehicle to pull them.