Stu - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2014, 07:18 AM   #1

Name: Stu
Trailer: In the market
Minnesota
Stu

Hi.

I am new to FiberglassRV. My wife Cindy has finally joined me in retirement and we are looking forward to traveling the country and meeting new friends! We are currently looking for the right fiberglass Rv for us and the right vehicle to tow it with. We will be looking to you for advice on how to start our journey the right way.

We started by looking at which vehicle is best for us. We are looking at a 16ft trailer and want to get the vehicle first so we can be ready when we find the trailer we want to buy.

The vehicle we decided on is a Subaru Outback rated to tow 2700 lbs. Our son-in-law warned us that it might not have enough power when you factor in the wind resistance.

What do you think the right vehicle capabilities should be?.

Thank you in advance for your help!
Stuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 07:34 AM   #2

Trailer: 2009 19 ft Escape / 2009 Honda Pilot
Registry
Hi Stu, welcome to the site.

Lots of good information here. I would suggest reading back, as you will find lots of good info on fibreglass trailers of all makes. Then, fire away with any questions you may still have.

A 2,700 lb towing capacity will be limiting to what you could tow, especially once you load up a trailer in the 16-17 ft range, Have you bought the Outback (which is a nice vehicle) yet, or is it just a forerunner?

This link will give you an idea of the real weights of many of the fibreglass trailers out there, once loaded.
http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...rld-43010.html

I think it is wise to not buy either until you work out the specifics for both the tow and the trailer first, that way you can be confident your combination is perfect for you.