Touring Musician who thinks fiberglass campers are great - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-25-2015, 04:11 PM   #1

Name: Cosby
Trailer: Currently shopping
New York
Touring Musician who thinks fiberglass campers are great

Hello Everyone,

I am a touring musician (acoustic and folk). I have been sleeping in my Honda Civic while on tour. As much as I love my Honda, I really would like to purchase a fiberglass camper such as a Scamp, Trillium, etc., so I can pull it with the Honda.

If anyone can guide me as to where there might be one available for about $1000. I feel I have tried everywhere!

Thank you very much, it is very nice to speak with you. Hope you have a great day, and looking forward to hearing from you.

PS: Here is a link to my artist website for you to hear songs and see information about me; Home - Cosby Gibson

Best wishes,
Cosby
cgib55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 04:27 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Touring Musician who thinks fiberglass campers are great

Welcome to FGRV, Cosby!

We also think FGRVs are great, but I think you may find yourself coming up short in a couple of ways.

One is the towing capacity of a Honda Civic. What does your owner's manual say? The 13' Scamps and Trilliums you mentioned will likely weigh between 1500-2000 pounds loaded for travel. See the thread Trailer Weights in the Real World for a reality check.

Second is budget. $1000 will typically buy a project trailer requiring a substantial investment in time and money to make it roadworthy and camp-ready. See the classified here and at Molded Fiberglass Travel Trailers For Sale for current listings and asking prices.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote