12 volt and 120 volt - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2020, 08:48 AM   #1

Name: Annalise
Trailer: Scamp
Lake Worth
12 volt and 120 volt

Hello, everyone. Thank you for all your help with renovating my Scamp. I have another question. So, what are the benefits of having a 12 volt system vs a 120 volt system. When I got my Scamp, it was 120 volt, and I wanted to keep it that way, but my friend told me that I should make the lighting 12 volt for convenience. I have little to no experience with electrical work so I have many questions. Do you need a power inverter for both a 12 volt and a 120 volt system? Can you use a battery with both systems? If someone could explain both systems to me that would be very much appreciated.
annalisewellman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 09:04 AM   #2

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Best bet is to do some Internet research.. you will get extensive information about such a general question, and then can ask specific questions that can better be addressed here.

https://www.google.com/search?q=camp...tems+explained
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 09:39 AM   #3

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
OK. No interest in furthering the debate on what is needed for camping. So I deleted my comments.

Let me instead suggest searching via google, not just this forum. The debate rages on and on and on....
thrifty bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 10:16 AM   #4

North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrifty bill View Post
You need a converter. ...
No you don't.

Quote:
...Propane and 12V with a battery are critical for dry camping and boon docking. ....
No they aren't.