120 AC/fuse panel heating up, smoking, lights go out - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-01-2017, 10:26 PM   #1

120 AC/fuse panel heating up, smoking, lights go out

We own a scamp 16 foot fiberglass trailer. We've enjoyed a couple of carefree years with our scamp. Recently our fuse panel started smoking. We immediately shut it off. No damage seemed to be done last year. This year all the power went off. The panel got unusually warm and smelled hot but we had no smoke coming from it. Again we immediately shut the power off. We have a surge protector on the power coming into our camper that gives us an indication if something is wrong. Nothing has ever indicated a problem with the electrical power coming in. Not being an electrician I have no idea what the problem could be that's causing the fuse panel to heat up. If anybody has any ideas at all on this I certainly would appreciate a heads up on it.
robertmarchiony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:45 PM   #2

Name: Daniel A.
Trailer: Bigfoot 17.0 1991 dlx
British Columbia
Registry
Not having a Scamp the best advice I can give would be that there is a serious short something you need to be very concerned about.

Do not put shore power on it and disconnect the battery.
You need to find out what is causing this before having power back on.
Daniel A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:49 PM   #3

Name: Bill
Trailer: Scamp
California
We had the same problem last year. I found that the wires going to the main breaker were loose. I ordered a new fuse panel from Scamp and replaced the whole thing.
wdsollars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:58 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel A. View Post
Not having a Scamp the best advice I can give would be that there is a serious short something you need to be very concerned about.