7 pin connector for solar suitcase - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-12-2022, 11:21 AM   #1

Name: Diane
Trailer: Scamp 13’
Wisconsin
7 pin connector for solar suitcase

I’d like to get 100 watt solar panel for our modest electric needs, and I'm leaning towards the Renogy Eclipse Solar Suitcase with 20 Amp Voyager Charge Controller. What I especially like about this setup is the waterproof controller; what I dislike is the alligator clips. Go Power sells a 7 pin connector for their solar suitcase. But their controller is not waterproof. (Plus the kit is more expensive.) The Go Power 7 pin connector has an Anderson style connection to the solar panel.
Anyone have experience adapting the 7 pin/ Anderson connector to the Renogy solar suitcase? A 7 pin to mc4 adapter perhaps? I have no electrical experience, so looking for something plug-and-play.
Thanks in advance for any help.
sunnyone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2022, 06:31 PM   #2

Trailer: 2009 17 ft Casita Freedom Deluxe
Two suggestios:
1) Clip of the alegator clips and wire the positive/negative to a 7-pin connector that you can't on Amazon or elsewhere.
2) My preference would be to clip off the clips and add a Anderson PowerPoint connector. Then but a Anderson cable off Amazon the has the battery lugs on the other end.

There are other common connectors that would accomplish the same. I mentioned the Anderson because you did and that's what I use for my ham radios. A friend has built several cables for me for the price of the connectors. It does require a special crimper.
Dave Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2022, 03:56 PM   #3

Name: Ron
Trailer: 2001 Casita 17' SD
IN