Air conditioning - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2019, 08:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Name: Craig
Trailer: Casita
Maine
Posts: 11
Air conditioning

Bought a 2013 Escape 19 without air. Vent opening and wiring are already in place. Standard conditioner seems to be 11,000 btu, can I install a Coleman Mach III 15,000 btu in the same space?
__________________

MaineGuide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 11:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Borrego Dave's Avatar
 
Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD17 2006 "Missing Link"
California
Posts: 3,739
The roof opening will be the same size so it will fit. Have to ask though why you think you need a 15K for such a small space to cool. My single 13.5K did just fine in a much larger class A than your TT. Might be a bit of overkill in the end, just sayin'. The 9200K on my SD 17 will freeze you out and can run it with a Honda 2000 that runs at half throttle during it's cooling cycle.
__________________

Borrego Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 09:15 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Name: Daniel A.
Trailer: Bigfoot 17.0 1991 dlx
British Columbia
Posts: 690
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borrego Dave View Post
The roof opening will be the same size so it will fit. Have to ask though why you think you need a 15K for such a small space to cool. My single 13.5K did just fine in a much larger class A than your TT. Might be a bit of overkill in the end, just sayin'. The 9200K on my SD 17 will freeze you out and can run it with a Honda 2000 that runs at half throttle during it's cooling cycle.



Agree completely I also have the 9200 in my 17 Bigfoot in ninety degree weather I turn it on and after the first half hour set it to low.
Daniel A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 04:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Name: aj
Trailer: Roamer TC
Georgia
Posts: 92
I have a 9200 also, and it is a meat locker within 5 minutes with temps outside in the 90's.

A roof 14 inch square opening is standard, almost all, if not all, ACs will fit in this hole. Then you have shore power power supply in the form of household wiring. This wiring should be just stuck somewhere in the hole area.

Put your AC unit over the hole, connect the wires etc and you have AC.
Beware that maybe the higher capacity unit might weigh more and most FG shells do not like a lot of weight up there. Over time they can sag.

Use a new gasket each time.
Roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioning


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scamp, Side Air Conditioning Legacy Posts Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 32 05-17-2012 07:15 PM
Our air conditioning solution CindyL Modifications, Alterations and Updates 16 06-10-2009 05:07 PM
More alternative air conditioning ideas Gina D. Modifications, Alterations and Updates 7 07-27-2006 07:22 AM
New Boler Air Conditioning Jollean Modifications, Alterations and Updates 6 01-15-2006 05:23 PM
AfterMarket Air Conditioning Pete Dumbleton General Chat 4 01-03-2006 12:05 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
×