Battery backup for Safe-T-alert CO/ LP detector - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2021, 11:11 AM   #1

Name: Josh
Trailer: 74, 13' Boler
Alberta
Battery backup for Safe-T-alert CO/ LP detector

I just bought the SafeT alert CO/ LP detector for our 1974 13' Boler, one unit, lasts 5 years, great...but it has no battery backup.

So I'm an electrician, I can figure this out right?

Here's my plan;

I bought a Power Sonic PS 12 volt 1.4 Ah sealed lead acid battery, a 12 vdc relay, and a couple 3A/ 1000 V diodes. (All from B&E electronics in Calgary)

I plan to run the main battery through the coil of the relay and in series, run a wire to the terminals of the small battery to maintain its charge. If power fails/ runs out/ is shut off, I want the relay to open so that this mini battery doesn't get eaten by the rest of the RV lights, and maxxfan, but will still power the CO/ LP detector all night.

Questions are:

1: Do I need the diode to isolate the mini battery from powering components in the RV while the main battery is on and charged?

2: Is there any issues with having the same Noco 5x1 genius, 120 v charger, charging 2 batteries in parallel at the same time (when on shore power)? The main battery is a cheap Princess Auto group 24 lead acid deep cycle rv battery.

3. When on solar power only, is there an issue with having the Renogy Rover 20 A charge controller charging 2 batteries in parallel?

All input or suggestions appreciated, as soon as I saw the SafeTalert and that it has no battery backup, this is the first thing I thought of, but I can't find any examples of other people doing this.
Josh Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2021, 11:58 AM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Robinson View Post