does power converter charge battery? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2012, 01:03 PM   #1

Name: kevin
Trailer: 1990 scamp 16ft
Kentucky
does power converter charge battery?

Just bought a 16ft scamp with a 20 amp magnetek "power converter" under the dinette seat. Does this converter recharge battery when camper is plugged into 110. If not... do you just charge the battery before you leave,,, for when 110 is not available? Thanks... Another rookie question, i know... (fair warning,, there will be many more questions to come.. lol.) Thanks again everybody... I am just learning.
ampline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:57 PM   #2

Name: Dennis
Trailer: Scamp 16'
Utah
Registry
Magnetek makes both converters and converter/chargers. You would need to know the model number to be sure. I'm betting it's only a converter. What year is your Scamp?
Old 08-09-2012, 02:03 PM   #3

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Yes the converter charges the battery while plugged into 110.

The owners manual for your Scamp can be found here - you can download a paper copy of it. Although the items shown in the corresponding videos may look different than whats in your trailer they work pretty well the same on older models of the same items.
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:54 PM   #4
Raz

Trailer: Trillium 2010
The easiest way to tell if the converter is charging your battery is to measure the voltage across the battery then plug in the converter and measure again. You should see an increase in battery voltage if the converter is charging. Rough numbers: 12.4-12.6 volts without. 13.5-14.5volts plugged in. If you don't own a voltmeter you can ask a friend or buy one. They cost about $20 at any hardware store or auto parts place. Raz
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 04:15 PM   #5

Utah
Registry