Dometic RM2454 3 way refrigerator 120 does not work - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2020, 06:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Name: Robert
Trailer: Casita
SD
Posts: 19
Dometic RM2454 3 way refrigerator 120 does not work

I pick this up in Jan 2019 from rice Tx to pick up my 17' Casita I drove down and back in 5 days to the Black Hills of SD. I was going to use it to build a house but things happen and I did not build the house. So it sat from Jan 2019 to Oct 2020 when I used it for the first time. I got ever thing hooked up and tried the fridge it did not go to 120V it did 12v and propane OK. I checked the receptacles on the out side they had power when I opened the outside cover I checked the receptacles that the unit was plugged into and the receptacle was bad a electrician replaced it still would not go on 120V. The element Ohm good and the bar fuse was good. Any Ideas? Thanks
RCF13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 10:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Name: Elliott
Trailer: Bigfoot
Everywhere
Posts: 462
Start tracing through. Does the new fixed receptacle get power? Is the breaker tripped? When running on 120V, does the boiler tube get hot? Or warm? Does it actually run power through the heating element when it's on? (you can check the voltage across the element to tell).
Defenestrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 10:18 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Name: Robert
Trailer: Casita
SD
Posts: 19
Thanks for writing back. Yes I have power to the plug I Ohm the element but I did not chick the power at the element plugs on the circuit board I will try that tomorrow if I have no power there it'd time to order a new control board.
RCF13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 05:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Trailer: Casita Patriot
Posts: 329
Registry
RCF13,

i'm assuming you have a larger dometic unit. the one used in the 17' casitas. at some point in the model years dometic started providing fridges that required 12v to the (new & improved) control board to function on 120v? i may have my facts wrong since i don't have that size fridge in my 16'er. i just remember posts that usually started with "do you have 12v going to the fridge".

p@
patrick crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 07:18 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Name: Robert
Trailer: Casita
SD
Posts: 19
Thanks Yes I have 12v DC to it and it works.
RCF13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refrigerator


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a 3-way Dometic fridge work on 120V while not hooked up to gas? Vic Berger Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 16 06-25-2020 09:21 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.